Have you previously used Tracks, turned them off, and now ready to start using them again?
This article is for you if you previously used Tracks, turned them OFF, and now want to turn them back ON. If your clinic has never used Tracks before, see this article instead.
This article explains how to turn Tracks back ON at the clinic or patient level and what happens to existing patients when you resume using Tracks.
→ Looking for more info on Tracks? Check out all Tracks articles here
🧑💻 Here's where to manage tracks:
You can turn Tracks off for your entire clinic or for individual patients.
ENTIRE CLINIC: Clinic Settings > General > Use Tracks

INDIVIDUAL PATIENTS: Patient Record > General > Edit > Use Tracks

Don't forget to click SAVE!
🧑💻 What happens when I turn Tracks back ON?
When Tracks are turned OFF, ChiroUp will prompt you to review and manage the patient’s active complaints on all active Tracks. What happens when you turn Tracks back ON (whether for an individual patient or for your entire clinic) depends on whether this review has already been completed.
Patients whose Tracks have NOT been “reviewed”
- The patient’s existing Tracks are inactivated when Tracks are turned OFF. When you turn Tracks back ON, their previously inactivated Tracks will be reactivated.
- Future appointments will populate the patient's Track according to the Track settings (associated providers & treatments).
Patients whose Tracks HAVE been reviewed
- If a patient’s active complaints have been already been reviewed, ChiroUp will create one new Track when Tracks are turned back ON. This new Track will include all of the complaints you decided to keep during your review.
💡 Pro Tip: We designed this feature to minimize disruption if you decide to turn Tracks back on. If you turn Tracks back on at the clinic level, patients who have not had an encounter since Tracks were turned OFF will be unaffected. ChiroUp will simply re-activate their existing tracks.
What exactly does it mean to review Tracks? And when does that happen?
When Tracks are turned OFF, ChiroUp prompts you to review all active complaints across the patient’s active Tracks (if the patient had multiple tracks at that time). You’ll choose which complaints to keep and which to resolve. This keep-or-resolve decision is what we mean by reviewing Tracks.
The timing depends on how Tracks were turned OFF:
- Clinic level: A patient’s Tracks are reviewed when they have their next encounter after Tracks are turned OFF.
- Patient level: A patient’s Tracks are reviewed immediately when Tracks are turned OFF for that patient.

🧑💻 What happens at the patient's next appointment after turning Tracks back ON?
After turning tracks back ON, patient appointments will re-populate the with Track field. For patients who have multiple Tracks, this Track field will populate based on the associated provider(s) and associated treatment(s) in the patient's Track settings.
Then, when the patient checks-in, their subjective survey (interim or re-exam) will ask about only the complaints present on the populated Track.

Need to switch the track after check-in for any reason? After the patient checks in and the encounter is created, you can switch the track as needed.

Here's a walk-through example of turning Tracks back ON for an individual patient:
Here's a walk-through example of turning Tracks back ON clinic wide: